You should register your child with your local ESD within 10 days of the beginning of homeschooling, or within 10 days of withdrawing the child from public school. If you have been homeschooling in another state and just moved to Oregon, register within 10 days of arriving, if it is within the school year. (Children under age 6 by September 1 do not need to be registered.)

The following ESDs allow online registration. Online registration ensures your data is more accurate, gives you 24/7 access to your information, and allows you to print out your confirmation letter at your convenience. Please note: If an ESD allows online registration, it is the preferable way to register. Registrations received by mail will be entered into the online system by the ESD – and any requests for confirmation letters or account information will only be accessible through the online system.

Register online in the following ESDs at https://homeschool.nwtoolbox.org/

  • Clackamas ESD
  • Intermountain ESD (Baker, Morrow, Umatilla, Union counties)
  • Multnomah ESD
  • Northwest Regional ESD (Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook, Washington counties)
  • Southern Oregon ESD (Jackson, Josephine, Klamath counties)
  • Willamette ESD (Marion, Polk, Yamhill counties)

Linn-Benton-Lincoln ESD, register online at https://www.lblesd.k12.or.us/homeschool/notification/form/

Some ESDs require that you send a letter to register your child as a homeschooler. The following is an example letter to mail to your Oregon ESD when you begin homeschooling. The ESD will then send you a letter of confirmation that you can use to show compliance with homeschool registration.

NOTICE: ESD offices are closed for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year, and letters to them will not be processed. If you are registering in a county that requires a mailed-in letter, we advise that you send in the letter as usual, and additionally email the homeschool liaison listed below, with a copy of the information, and a note that you have also mailed in your letter.

Note that is is optional for you to fill in the child’s grade level. However, if you do not select a grade, the ESD will assign one based on the child’s age.

Assumed grade levels if you do not choose to assign one yourself, based on age of child on September 1:

  • 6 years old: kindergarten
  • 7 years old: 1st grade
  • 8 years old: 2nd grade
  • 9 years old: 3rd grade
  • 10 years old: 4th grade
  • 11 years old: 5th grade
  • 12 years old: 6th grade
  • 13 years old: 7th grade
  • 14 years old: 8th grade
  • 15 years old: 9th grade
  • 16 years old: 10th grade
  • 17 years old: 11th grade
  • 18 years old: 12th grade
    To Whom It May Concern:

    This is my notice of intent to homeschool my child pursuant to OAR 581-021-0026 (4).

    Parent’s name:

    Child’s name:

    Child’s birthdate:

    Child’s grade level: (optional)

    Do NOT release my child's information outside of the school district. (optional)

    Child’s Address:

    School district where child resides:

    Parent's phone:

    Parent's email:

    Sincerely,
    (your signature)

The ESD you will report to depends on what county you live in.

Baker, Morrow, Umatilla, Union Counties
InterMountain ESD
2001 SW Nye Avenue
Pendleton, OR 97801
541-966-4603
Lizette Berryessa
lizette.berryessa@imesd.k12.or.us

Benton, Lincoln, Linn Counties
Linn-Benton-Lincoln ESD
906 4th Avenue
Albany, OR 97321
541-812-2687
(Ms) Sam Rounsavell
homeschool@lblesd.k12.or.us

Clackamas County
Clackamas ESD
13455 SE 97th Avenue
Clackamas, OR 97015
503-675-4031
James Sang
jsang@clackesd.org

Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook, Washington Counties
Northwest Regional ESD
5825 NE Ray Circle
Hillsboro, OR 97124
503-614-1626
Polly Grant
pgrant@nwresd.k12.or.us

Coos, Curry Counties
South Coast ESD
1350 Teakwood Avenue
Coos Bay, OR 97420
541-266-3951
Kathy Metzger
kathleenm@scesd.k12.or.us

Crook, Deschutes Counties
High Desert ESD
2804 SW 6th St.
Redmond, OR 97756
541-693-5656
Jamie Benton
jamie.benton@hdesd.org

Douglas County
Douglas ESD
1871 NE Stephens Street
Roseburg, OR 97470
541-440-4757
Kim Rencher
kim.rencher@douglasesd.k12.or.us

Gilliam, Sherman, Wheeler Counties
North Central ESD
PO Box 637
Condon, OR 97823
541-384-2732
Kim Domenighini
kdomenighini@ncesd.k12.or.us

Grant County
Grant County ESD
835-A S Canyon Blvd
John Day, OR 97845
541-575-1349
Robert Waltenburg
waltenburgr@grantesd.k12.or.us

Harney County
Harney County ESD
450 N Buena Vista Avenue
Burns OR 97720
541-573-2122
Hollie Held
heldh@harneyesd.k12.or.us

Hood River, Wasco Counties
Columbia Gorge ESD
500 East Scenic Drive Ste 207
The Dalles, OR 97058
541-506-2240
Mary Bowen
mbowen@cgesd.k12.or.us

Jackson, Josephine, Klamath Counties
Southern Oregon ESD
101 N Grape Street
Medford OR 97501
541-776-8590
Cortney Young
cortney_young@soesd.k12.or.us

Jefferson County
Jefferson County ESD
445 SE Buff Street
Madras OR 97741
541-475-2804
Sherrie Fessier
sfessier@jcesd.k12.or.us

Lake County
Lake County ESD
357 N “L” Street
Lakeview, OR 97630
541-947-3371
Jessica Christensen
jchristensen@lakeesd.k12.or.us

Lane County
Lane ESD
1200 Hwy 99 N
Eugene, OR 97402
541-461-8285
Michelle Martin
mmartin@lesd.k12.or.us

Malheur County
Malheur ESD
363 A Street W
Vale, OR 97918
542-4473-3138 x4824
Allison Nunez
allison.nunez@malesd.k12.or.us

Marion, Polk, Yamhill Counties
Willamette ESD
2611 Pringle Road SE
Salem, OR 97302
503-385-4623
Michelle Alexander
Michelle.alexander@wesd.org

Multnomah County
Multnomah ESD
11611 NE Ainsworth Circle
Portland, OR 97230
503-257-1651
Pattie Lincoln
plincoln@mesd.k12.or.us

Wallowa County
Wallowa County ESD Region 18
107 SW 1st Street #105
Enterprise OR 97828
541-426-4997
G Piper
gpiper@r18esd.org