Legislative Updates

SB 3446

In June 2015 the Governor signed SB 321, which changes the age for compulsory school attendance (or homeschool registration) from age 7 to age 6, effective July 2016.

This WILL NOT change your requirement to register your child for the coming 2015-2016 school year. In the 2015-2016 year, you will only be required to register your child as a homeschooler if he or she is SEVEN (7) by September 1, 2015. In the 2016-2017 academic year, children who are SIX (6) by September 1, 2016 will be required to register in school or as homeschoolers.

In either case, if your child attends an online charter school, you are not required to register as a homeschooler, as the charter schools are public schools.

The testing requirements for homeschoolers will not change. Testing is required at the end of 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 10th grades for children who have been homeschooled at least 18 months.

Please feel free to email us at info@ohen.org with any concerns.

Read the specifics of the bill at the Oregon Legislature's website here.

HB 3446

House Bill 3446 had a Public Hearing on Apr 8, 2013. HB 3446 would remove the standardized testing and reporting requirements to which homeschoolers are still subject but other privately educated children are not. HB 3446 is sponsored by Representative Barker and Senator Starr, at the request of Oregon Home Education Network (OHEN) and Oregon Christian Education Association Network (OCEANetwork).

To read the content of HB 3446, go here.

The Statutes and Administrative Rules governing Oregon homeschoolers are available on the OHEN website: http://www.ohen.org/oregon/legal

Contacting Your Legislators

To find your state legislator, go to http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/ enter your street address, and then scroll down the resulting list to the last two entries, which will be your state Senator and state Representative.

Tips for contacting legislators
Information addressing common concerns: